Local Government

​Local Government and 26TEN

Tasmania's local government sector is made up of 29 councils, each responsible for a municipal area. These councils have a legislated role in representing the interests of their community and providing for their health and welfare.

26TEN works closely with the Local Government Association of Tasmania (LGAT) and a number of councils because we know that communities are more resilient and more prosperous if their members have higher literacy and numeracy levels.

26TEN supports local councils to build literacy and numeracy skills in their communities and to build skills in plain English to improve communication.

The local government sector is represented on the 26TEN Coalition by Daryl Quilliam. Daryl is Vice President of LGAT, Mayor of the Circular Head Council and has been on that council for almost thirty years.

LGAT began working with 26TEN in 2012 when we worked together to produce two key publications that are still in use today:

Most recently the 26TEN Coalition recognised the inspiring efforts of nine local government councils at the Local Government Association of Tasmania conference. Chair of the Coalition, Daryl Quilliam, congratulated them for their collaboration with 26TEN and other organisations to build literacy skills in their communities.

He recognised that their efforts to build reading, writing and maths skills has a positive ripple effect, building stronger, healthier, more resilient communities.

Congratulations and keep up the great work:

  • West Tamar, Glenorchy, Derwent Valley and Break O'Day, two time recipients of  26TEN communities grants.
  • Burnie and Circular Head, the original 26TEN communities 
  • Huon Valley and Devonport, 26TEN communities
  • Kingborough, 26TEN Member.

26TEN Local Government Members

Break O'Day*

Burnie City

Circular Head

Derwent Valley*

Devonport City*

Glenorchy City*

Huon Valley*


West Tamar*

*Employer or community grants recipients